Timeline…

Hello Interwebs…

Beth and I have been getting a little lazy with updating our blog with the things that are happening in life, and we’re waiting until New Years day to make a resolution to not procrastinate as much.

Things are good, and God has blessed us with fairly smooth sailing over the past few months. We’re just busy, like most people. However, in the routine of day to day life, we sometimes find a gem like we did today.

Our oldest son, who’s in third grade brought home some of his graded homework today. Here’s what we got:

Timeline

Timeline

It is a timeline. Please bear with him. For a kid that didn’t know most of his letters two years ago, he has come a long way, writing in another language. Here it is if you are having trouble.

Timeline Title: “About my present life.”

1. “I was born in 2005 in Colombia.”

2. “I was in first grade when I came to Texas.”

3. “And then I see (saw) my family.”

4. “Then I go (went) to my house.”

5. “Then I (went) to my school.”

To be picky, he did meet us before he came to Texas, but it’s the spirit of the assignment in which I am more interested.

This blog records our adoption from our point-of-view, but we really don’t understand or fathom what our adoption was like for our kids. Out of all the events in his life, these are the five that he chose to record on the worksheet, and the last four happened within two months of each other. Four major (in his mind) events jammed into such a small space of time. It had to be a shock to the system for him and the rest of his siblings. I forget that everything in his life changed in that space of time… parents, culture, church, language, weather, country. Thank God that the one thing that didn’t have to change was his siblings! They all did it together.

Also, it’s interesting to compare his timeline to my own. To a non-adoptive kid, being born and seeing your family for the first time happen together. Here, they are spaced apart by nearly seven years. I can’t remember a time before my parents, because there wasn’t one. They were constants in my life from day one. Here, the parents drift in at the middle of the story.

It’s fun to look at this and play arm-chair psychiatrist, but the thing that makes me happy is this is a beautiful story, and he is proud of it. He is not so embarrassed by his past that he keeps it from his teacher or friends. He doesn’t lament not having a family before 2012, but instead celebrates that we have one now.

This boy now has a family, a house, a school with teachers and friends that love him, and he has Jesus in his heart. He is not an orphan. He is not fatherless or Fatherless.

After two years, it still doesn’t get old to me. This step in our lives took more risk and courage than any other, but God has blessed, and it was so worth it!

At the dinnermesa,

Ty

Leave a Reply

