My First Mother’s Day…

Did you know that the day before Mother’s day is national birth-mother’s day?

It’s a day to sit and think about the woman who made my family possible.  It’s a day to think about the woman who my children will always be connected to, who they will look like, who raised them the first few years of their lives.  Although our story isn’t one about sacrifice or a mommy choosing us specifically to mother her children, this is still a woman that I think about and appreciate.  I know her story, where she was, how life treated her, and that she chose life.  She chose life five times & for that she is my hero.  Abortion is everywhere, she could have chosen to end any of our (her’s & mine) kid’s lives.  Lately in society it is sold as the “best/right choice” for inconvenient pregnancies.  The best choice will always be life.  Please don’t make your child pay for your situation, look past the 9 months & see the other option.  Become a family’s hero, adoption is an incredible blessing; it has forever changed our family.

Mother’s day was wonderful, Tyler let me sleep in & he got the kids ready for church, I was greeted with homemade cards & a new pair of sunglasses (thank goodness, mine had broken 2wks before) & 5 smiling kids.  I got to stand up at church when the pastor recognized all of the moms.  My two oldest children accepted Christ as their Lord and Savior, & will be baptized in a few weeks.  We celebrated with our entire family at picnics.  And then we went home & I laid out clothes for Monday, prepared lunches for the next day, picked up around the house, finished the laundry, and straightened the kitchen.  I didn’t mind, because being a mom is a full-time job.  I am blessed to be busy, to have people to care about & pour into.

That night I prayed for their birth-mom, because I know what it is like waking up on Mother’s day without your kids home.  I prayed for blessings on her & to find peace in the midst of loss.  I prayed for my mommy friends that God gives us patience, kindness & strength to do our very best for our children.  I prayed for moms who are waiting for their babies to come home, moms who have lost their babies, moms who are far from their babies.  I prayed for the babies who are without their moms and that they find a Heavenly Father who can fill that mom-sized hole.  Lastly I prayed for more women to choose life, to embrace the role of mommy, & have the courage to think of a life other than your own, & choose a good life for your child.

1 Corinthians 3:16-17  

Do you not know that you are God’s temple and that God’s Spirit dwells in you?

If anyone destroys God’s temple, God will destroy him.

For God’s temple is holy, and you are that temple.

At the dinnermesa,

Beth

Leave a Reply

