Did you know there is no Easter Bunny…

So holidays still kick my butt as a parent.   When we were single & care-free, my only concern was to get whatever dessert I was signed up to bring to Easter dinner on time (and I was usually late).  I still have that on my to-do list hence why I am up this late waiting for my pudding to thicken.  Here are my latest holiday lessons in Easter…

Did you know that we (the parents) have to put the candy in the eggs, no bunny does it, & apparently if your kids do it the magic is ruined.

Easter baskets, kids need an Easter basket.  I grew up getting one every Easter morning (I am going to be real honest now as an adult I might still receive a little something).  It was filled with magical spring treats like the one-time-a-year-delicious peeps, a stuffed bunny/duck/chick, Cadbury creme eggs, etc. Well friends I don’t know how we missed it but we COMPLETELY FORGOT to budget for 5 Easter baskets.  Right now I had to turn off Facebook because every update I see is of beautifully & thoughtfully planned Easter morning surprises.

Separate lesson about the Easter basket, you actually need them before Easter to go to the church/community Easter egg hunts.  This morning we did not have any, so I did a desperate look around the house & the only thing I had 5 of were the galvanized buckets above my kitchen cabinets.  As we walked to the car to head to the egg hunt my youngest son asked, “Are we going to milk cows with these buckets?” Mami’s response, “No.”  His response, “So goats?”

Easter dresses, once again a time honored tradition in my household growing up…something frilly in a pastel with a hat.  Yes, the one time of the year to wear a hat no matter how giant your head is.  Boys are always in nice shirts, ties, no holes in the jeans, shiny shoes…

Resurrection rolls, resurrection cookies, dying eggs…yep none of that happened.  I have 18 hard-boiled eggs in the fridge, dye sitting on the counter, but we ran out of time.  Looks like a lot of egg salad & cobb salad for us this week.

Please know this is not a don’t spend money on these things blog post.  I think that holidays, birthdays, anniversaries, celebrations need to be special.  They need to have a budget but they need to be celebrated in some way.  The kids need to know that this is a special day & why.  We learned this lesson on our third wedding anniversary we decided that even though we had no money, we needed to do something to mark this special day.  The year before we talked ourselves out of any celebrating, once again we blamed it on prudence & maturity.  But we had missed it, we had missed making a memory.  On our third year, we borrowed a movie from friends, defrosted the steaks I had bought on sale a few months before, & turned off our phones.  Nothing fancy but we took the time to celebrate the day.

I am so thankful for our parents.  I wish I could explain to you how they have eased us into parenting 5 children.  Through wisdom, advice, help, baby sitting, & through the holidays.

My parents made the kid’s Easter baskets, we didn’t ask them too, we didn’t mention it to them.  My dad just called one day & asked if they could…yes!  Tyler’s mom sewed the girl’s Easter dresses, & even gave me the extra ribbon so I could make the matching bows.  My parents bought the boys new pastel shirts with ties.  As a prideful human being this is hard for me to confess, I want to be able to provide everything for my children, my husband has a good job, I am a stay at home mom, we live frugally & are planners but we still need help.

Tomorrow morning at 5am Tyler & I will be stuffing eggs with candy, because when you are parents that is what you do. 🙂

Tonight instead of dying eggs we celebrated Tyler’s parent’s birthdays, we had hamburgers, played outside, rode bikes, laughed, memories were made.

We may never have a perfect, by-the-books, pinterest-inspired Easter.  But my children will know the Easter story, they will hear about God who sent His only son to be our atoning sacrifice, I pray that someday they will understand the importance, the need of a Savior in their lives, the desire to make Him Lord of their lives.  We will still strive to make family moments, but I refuse to stress or get down about not keeping up with everybody else.  For you mamas out there that are in the same boat not hitting that level of perfection, keep treading water, do your very best for your children & give them to the Lord.

Egg Hunt

This is the 1 picture mom took right before the Easter hunt, as we were taking it the bell rang & we nearly missed the entire hunt & all ended up with about 2 eggs! Luckily we have generous friends who shared with us…mom didn’t take anymore pictures because we might have been teary-eyed the rest of the time. Thanks Mami!

Happy Easter friends & family!

There was a violent earthquake, for an angel of the Lord came down from heaven and, going to the tomb, rolled back the stone and sat on it.  His appearance was like lightning, and his clothes were white as snow.  The guards were so afraid of him that they shook and became like dead men.   The angel said to the women, “Do not be afraid, for I know that you are looking for Jesus, who was crucified.  He is not here; he has risen, just as he said.  Come and see the place where he lay.  Then go quickly and tell his disciples: ‘He has risen from the dead and is going ahead of you into Galilee.  There you will see him. ‘Now I have told you.’

Matthew 28:2-7

He is risen…the world’s hope!

At the dinnermesa,

Beth

 

One thought on “Did you know there is no Easter Bunny…

  1. Nancy says:

    Beth and Tyler,

    You guys are doing a great job with your kids. It is never easy to be a parent, first of all babies and children don’t come with instructions. Therefore, we as parents have to figure out how things are going to work and there is no book other the Bible that really has truthful instructions on how to raise our kids. I applaud you guys for the hard work you are doing with your kids.

    Blessings to you and your family.

    Nancy

Leave a Reply

