A little glimpse into our night…

Look who is learning to read too…

Big Sister!

FYI: from here down is what I’ve been going through, so if you only read to see the kids you can stop here. (Don’t worry it won’t offend me a bit :))

Life has been hard.  We had the flu go through our house last week & just when you think it is over Darth started running a fever last night & got on Tamiflu today.

It’s frustrating when our plans are changed.  When money you ear-marked for something heads in another direction.  When time you so thoughtfully planned is taken away.  When family you want to be with lives far away.  When governments change their rules & their are more hoops to jump through before you can get your kids.

I wish I could let you know about all the details about how our children became available but that is our family’s private story.  Just know that we were approved nearly a week after our children became available to adopt.  Our kids were supposed to be available for adoption in May, but due to circumstances their time was pushed back.  Our children were supposed to be orphans before we had even applied for adoption, they were supposed to be orphans 1wk before Tyler would go on a mission trip that would change his heart.  If they were approved earlier: they could have been separated, they could have gone home with another family, we could still be waiting.

Sometimes doubt & frustration sets in & we get sick of the circumstance that we have been placed in.  Sometimes we forget the miracles that God has already preformed in our life as we wait for the next “big thing” to come along.

In my personal bible study I camped out in 1 Peter (he’s probably my most favorite apostle, he had a bit of a problem with his mouth too):

Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that he may lift you up in due time.  Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.

Be alert and of sober mind. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour. Resist him, standing firm in the faith, because you know that the family of believers throughout the world is undergoing the same kind of sufferings.

And the God of all grace, who called you to his eternal glory in Christ, after you have suffered a little while, will himself restore you and make you strong, firm and steadfast. To him be the power for ever and ever. Amen.  (1Peter 5:6-11)

My Verbs/Actions for Life: 

Humble: Having or showing a modest or low estimate of one’s own importance (AKA: it’s not all about me, my time, my plan)

Cast: Throw (something) forcefully in a specified direction (FORECFULLY THROW AWAY MY ANXIETY!!!)

Alert: Quick to notice any unusual and potentially dangerous or difficult circumstances; vigilant (vigilant: Keeping careful watch for possible danger or difficulties) (Read the bible, pray, go to church, ALL THE TIME because my enemy is moving around all them time)

Sober (mind): quiet or sedate in demeanor, not a drunk (Do not act like a fool, like a drunk, do not go whatever way the wind may blow, I know the truth)

Resist: Withstand the action or effect of (Do not fall under pressure, the pressure that is promised to come)

Standing (firm):  Remaining upright, not cut down (firm: Having a solid, almost unyielding surface or structure).  (Staying upright unyielding, not growing weary & sitting down)

Suffered: Experience or be subjected to (something bad or unpleasant), Be affected by or subject to (an illness or ailment). (Bad stuff is going to happen because there is sin in our world. But it is suffered (past tense), it is not my future, my future is heaven.)

Because my Enemy’s verbs are:

Prowls: Move around (a place) in search of or as if in search of prey (He is hunting & I’ve known some hunters: they are sneaky & PATIENT, going to the animal’s natural habitat, waiting in deer-blinds for hours/days, for that moment to attack, that moment of “slowness” or weakness)

Roaring: Making a loud, deep, or harsh prolonged sound (AKA does not want to be ignored, wants to disturb, disrupt, break)

Looking: Direct one’s gaze toward someone or something or in a specified direction (A specified direction, the enemy is looking into the details of my life.  That’s where he finds my weaknesses, in the everyday, in my actions toward others, how I handle hard circumstances)

Devour: Consume (someone or something) destructively (Not just eat but he wants me to suffer, to hurt, to lose faith)

But I have His Promises:

Lift (you up):Raise to a higher position or level (He will not leave me in my despair, that is not His desire for me)

Cares (for you): The provision of what is necessary for the health, welfare, maintenance, and protection of someone or something (For all of me, in everything He cares)

Called (you): Cry out to (someone) in order to summon them or attract their attention (He is talking to me, God of the Universe called out to me…blows my mind)

(He) will: Expressing the future tense, Intend, desire, or wish (something) to happen (AKA: IT IS GOING TO HAPPEN!)

Restore (me): bring back, reinstate, return (someone or something) to a former condition (There is nothing, no one, no circumstance that is out of His reach, all can be made new..ALL)

Make (me strong, firm & steadfast): Form (something) by putting parts together or combining substances; construct; create (He is going to make me able to withstand the world around me, not by my own power but solely through His)

Power: The ability to do something or act in a particular way (Synonyms: might, force, strength, authority…and I am on His side, what is there to fear, worry, doubt?!?)

Then I looked up “in due time”

In: Expressing the situation of something that is or appears to be enclosed or surrounded by something else

Due: Expected at or planned for at a certain time

Time: The indefinite continued progress of existence and events in the past, present, and future regarded as a whole

As in all of His plans (past, present & future) are enclosed for a certain time, a perfect time.

At the dinnermesa,

Beth

3 thoughts on “A little glimpse into our night…

  1. Love to watch her having so much fun reading!!! I am praying for you!! I can’t imagine all the things that you are having to learn and go through. Rhees and I were just talking about how we have no idea what to expect when we get our kids. Instant parents….wow!! Good thing God is our strength! Thank you for the break down of that verse. I love looking at scpripture in a different way!

  2. Lauren Robertson says:

    Oh my word, she is precious! I loved the way she acted out the words. She is really good at reading. Ya’ll are doing such a great job! Thanks for breaking down that verse for me as well. So insightful!

Leave a Reply

