Out of my hands…

So I have a 2yr old, maybe you’ve heard of her…Darth.  Well baby girl is dying for independence.  We spend most of the day in battles of her saying, “Yo solo, yo solo, YO SOLO” (in English: BY MYSELF).  She wants to do it all by herself, get dressed, buckle herself in, unbuckle herself, carry the groceries, drive the car…everything.  So on Monday the kids got up a little earlier than usual from their naps & Darth once again demands sweetly asks to put her pants on by herself…okay. 2o minutes later she comes in & tells me “Si” AKA: I did it mom, I did it by myself, without any help from you, I told you so!

Heidy pants

Mom, I did it ALL BY MYSELF! Ha!

In Darth’s mind she had succeeded the pants were up, at least from her angle, however from Mami’s angle was Darth’s reality…

Heidy reality

Is that a draft I feel?

And after I tell her & show her, she still fights me, throws a tantrum & has to sit in time-out before she relents & lets Mami help her out.

So tonight we had a delightful activity planned; we were headed to watch our talented brother-in-law in a Christmas musical.  Outfits were pressed, hair was fixed, baby sitter had been lined up (turns out our 2 little ones are not ready for 2hrs of sitting politely), dinner was done…and then I heard water running.  Which surprised me because I had not run a load in the washer since that morning.  So I call the husband at work & tell him what I am hearing & he tells me to unplug the washer.  I move the washer over as much as I can (it’s heavy with a dryer sitting on top of it & full of water) & wiggle my hand back there & unplug the machine…but still I can hear water running.  Husband tells me no worry he gets off in 15 minutes & will be home 20min after that.

Then all of a sudden I hear a big rush of water, washer has opened, spilling water & clothing everywhere.  Uh-oh, door closed, shop vac in use, calling the husband again.  “I need you to come home now!”  Also I can still hear the water running.  Washer gushes out with water 2 more times, the water has now reached our dining room, living room, kitchen, bedroom & master bath (don’t worry it’s because we live in a small house).  I finally run barefoot in a tank top (you should know I do not wear tank tops in public, there is a lot of arm to jiggle on this body) looking for a neighbor to  help me turn the water off from the street.  2 houses down I meet our new neighbor, who I had not had the chance to talk to before, & tell him my story.  Thankfully he rushed out with his family following with a wrench & screw driver to help me out.

Water off.  House soaked.  Kids everywhere.  Mom screaming, “Our home is a pool, just get along with your brother, Mami does not care that he took your pencil!”  Kids yelling, “Mami there is a lot of water on the floor…why?”

Then the calvary came in!  My folks & sister showed up because we had already lined Tia Sara up to baby-sit & my parents were going to ride out to the play with us, but dressed in their “Saturday night going out clothes” my dad takes over the shop vac & mom starts laying down towels & Tia Sara keeps the kids busy in their rooms & out of the “pool”.  Tyler came home cool as a cucumber & didn’t over react…even when we decided that we had to get a new washing machine, using money that we had allocated for something else that is also very important, but not as important as 7 people walking around in smelly clothes.

ALL THE TIME Sometimes I tell God “Yo solo”, by myself.  I’ve got this, I’ve worked hard & know what to do, I’ve planned for everything (yea right), I can handle it because I know what is best. Then I try to walk out of the house with my panties hanging out (not really, this is just to bring it back to my Darth from before!!).  I let my circumstances define me.

Spending tonight in my favorite verses…2 Peter 1:3-11

His divine power has given us everything we need for a godly life through our knowledge of him who called us by his own glory and goodness.  Through these he has given us his very great and precious promises, so that through them you may participate in the divine nature, having escaped the corruption in the world caused by evil desires.

For this very reason, make every effort to add to your faith goodness; and to goodness, knowledge; and to knowledge, self-control; and to self-control, perseverance; and to perseverance, godliness; and to godliness, mutual affection; and to mutual affection, love. For if you possess these qualities in increasing measure, they will keep you from being ineffective and unproductive in your knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ. But whoever does not have them is nearsighted and blind, forgetting that they have been cleansed from their past sins.

Therefore, my brothers and sisters, make every effort to confirm your calling and election. For if you do these things, you will never stumble, and you will receive a rich welcome into the eternal kingdom of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

My goodness life is hard & trying.  It is filled with daily struggles, frustrations, corruption, national tragedies, heart-breaking news… but we cannot stop living.  We cannot tire of doing good.  We cannot “play it safe” or keep our faith hidden.  We cannot stay away from the world. WE CANNOT DO IT ON OUR OWN!!!  We have to have faith because without faith all is lost.  And in through our faith there must be WORKS!  I will not fear humanity because I have been commanded to share the Good News with them; I will not fear my children being in this world, but I will arm them with the Armor or God (Ephesians 6:10-18), I will pray for their salvation everyday, every hour, until I know that they have chosen salvation.

Stay strong friends, rely on God, listen to His voice, let Him heal you, GO when He calls.  Do not take on this life alone.

At the dinnermesa,

Beth

4 thoughts on “Out of my hands…

  1. rcadden says:

    Oh, Beth. If it makes you feel any better, I’ve almost lost track of the number of date nights that have been planned and looked forward to, only to get a call about a daughter with a fever. Or throwing up. Or….well….you know the other options (or you will, eventually).

    Money ‘disappears’ or seems to take on a life of its own, complete with different decisions as to where it should be spent than what you’d planned.

    As you said, life goes on. It’s easy to let it get to you, and Christina and I both do, at different times. You mentioned that Tyler came home calm – it’s amazing how good God is that somehow, someway, ONE of the two of you always seems to ‘have it together’ (I use the phrase lightly, lol) when the other one has lost it. It’s not always the same one, either – sometimes, I’m at the end of my rope, ready to just give up, and Christina’s the one with the plan, moving into action. Other times, she’s basically checked-out, or about to, and I’m the one that steps in, ready to rock it. There’s always one of us that God has prepared for such a time as this.

  2. Donna S says:

    One of my favorite posts! So true…and inspiring. We must not get weary in doing well. And we must stay faithful to Him and keep holding His hand.

Leave a Reply

