Happy Thanksgiving…

This song was the first one that we heard when we started attending church in Colombia…

I will praise You in the good, in the bad, in the easy, in the hard, in the happy, & in the sad.  I will find my joy in You.  He has made me glad!

I am Christmas girl.  I put up decorations in October.  I break-down & start listening to Christmas music as early as July.  Green & red are my favorite color combination.  But I am trying to teach our 5 children about Thanksgiving, so I have held off on all Christmas-ing (we do listen to Musica de Navidad).  Our kids are still a little confused about the holiday; they asked, “Why do we spend a whole day ‘thanking’? Shouldn’t we be thankful everyday?”  YES!  We should be thankful everyday, in every circumstance, in every stage of life.  I pray that we take the time for a prayer of Thanksgiving everyday.

They walk around the house “practicing” for Thanksgiving, these are some of the things they are thankful for…

Papi & Mami, brothers & sisters, dogs, Grandma & Grandad, Papi Grande & Abuelita, Tios & Tias, Primos, Memaw, Meme & Papa, food, beds, clothes, a house, a church, books, school, friends, blanket, a computer, a car, crayons, Texas, pictures, shoes, socks, cookies, & silla azul (AKA time-out chair)…

Family & God’s provision, & the discipline that comes from love (silla azul is mentioned in EVERY night time prayer & is usually followed by the phrase, “please help us be good & stay out of silla azul); we should be thankful everyday.

At the dinnermesa,

Beth

5 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving…

  1. Candy says:

    Do you remember just a few short months ago we discussed about planning your Thanksgiving with the kids and family. Wanting you to look forward to a happy family thanksgiving in Midlothian….not Columbia. Today is that day…Rejoice and be glad in it!!! Rejoice!!!

    • dinnermesa says:

      I do, I think about it all the time! It was such great advice & it really got me through some long days. Thanksgiving was just as great as we hoped it would be :))

  2. Your picture is precious!! I love that children remind us what is important about the holidays….we should just always be thankful! I am so thankful for your blog. It really does give me encouragement! My husband and I are starting the process of adoption and are the couple who are going to skype with you tomorrow! I can’t wait!! We just started our own blog specificallychosen.wordpress.com
    Thank you for being a blessing to us!

Leave a Reply

