29…

29…blessed, happily married, mom of 5, good self esteem, secure & confident in my salvation, active in my church, supportive family, loyal friends, happy.

Sometimes we see the current picture & forget where it came from…

10yrs ago I was about to enter into a very sin-filled & self-filled lifestyle.  I would enter into a destructive relationship.  I would find my worth in the eyes of others.  I would put my family on the back-burner.  I would destroy life-long friendships.  I would attempt to hide from God.  I would put my needs before others.  I would stop going to church.  I would live for myself.  I would become ashamed of the person that I was.  At 19 my life was headed in a different direction and very easily could have been where I ended up.

A year later I would hear a testimony that would remind me that God was not done with me yet.  I would go home & prostrate myself on the floor & pray for forgiveness & for God to take me out of my sin any way possible.  A day later God would give me an out & I took it.  Two days after Satan would come back knocking on my door.  For another year I would wake up every morning drowning in my past sins, sick with myself & my past actions & ask for forgiveness all over again.  God had already forgiven me but I had the earthly consequences to deal with & the human memories & emotions to remind me of all my failings.  I remember telling God, “please just get this feeling of unclean off of me, don’t waste your time with my life, I don’t deserve restoration, I have salvation & that is enough, I don’t deserve blessings too.”

Thankfully, one of my old teachers made me memorize this in high school…

The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.

He makes me lie down in green pastures.  He leads me beside still waters.  He restores my soul.  He leads me in paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,  I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.

You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; you anoint my head with oil;my cup overflows.

Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life, and I shall dwell  in the house of the Lord forever.

You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; you anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows.

Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life, and I shall dwell in the house of the Lord forever.

Psalm 23:1-6

God is still in the service of performing miracles.  A few weeks ago I watched a dear friend be baptized & share her testimony, confess her sins & declare that the only way to defeat the sins of this world is to fill yourself with Jesus, so much so that there is no room for anything else.  It is a miracle that God has blessed me with a good, loving & faithful husband.  It is a miracle that we have 5 children.  It is a miracle that God took this disgrace of a woman & allowed her to become a wife, mother & friend for His glory.

Thankful for 29yrs, preparing to serve for a lifetime.  It’s not too late, it never is.

At the dinnermesa,

Beth

4 thoughts on “29…

  1. Lauren Robertson says:

    Love! Beautiful!! Happy Birthday! I don’t have facebook anymore, so I can’t keep up with you through that, but I hope you have a phenomenal day! Love all that God has done with your life. You are a shining star for him and such a great mom!

  2. Betty Jo Wick says:

    Beth: Thank you for sharing. What a beautiful spirit Christ has given to you. You are so beautiful in His eyes and the eyes of many, many others. Never forget that it was the prayers of your parents that probably brought you through. Always remember this as you raise these 5 beautiful children that God has privileged you to raise. Sometimes the only thing you have to hold on to when a child is wayward, is knowing that your prayers are being heard by a faithful God. BJ

  3. Vicki lindsey says:

    Beautiful & so encouraging!! Thanks– I needed to hear that today!!! I love you, sweet friend! Happy birthday & may God continue to pour out His blessings on you!!!

Leave a Reply

