Day 44…

Guess what friends, we have 5 kids & 5 passports & 5 doctor´s reports!  Everything is ready to go for our visit to the US Embassy on Monday.  We are fervently praying that we can get the visas on Monday & be able to book flights & fly out on Thursday, right now there are enough seats available on Thursday flights (we had our handy-dandy
American Airlines friend scouting AA flights home for us).

Saving their brother from a crocodile that lives in the “water” at the park, gotta love those imaginations!

Watching Meet the Robinsons & the kids are all about inventing, this was one of today´s

Celebrating Martha´s 1 month in Bogota with burgers

Home on Thursday, I still can´t fully believe that it will happen yet, not until we are holding those visas in our hands.

We are so ready to come home!  Tomorrow we start another weekend, another 2 days to fill.  Martha has been here a month on Sunday, on Thursday it will be 7wks for our family.  When you start the adoption process & you hear that you could be in-country for 4-8wks, I got in my heart & head 4wks.  7wks in a foreign country with 5 kids.  I still can´t believe it.  I remember the first 7-11 days, we were TERRIFIED.  We would count down the hours until the day ended & then fear when they would wake up in the morning.  Oh baby how far we have come!  We no longer fear our children, we are excited when they wake up, we are greeted with I love you´s & hugs, they are excited to spend the day with us.  If one has a melt-down I no longer panic, I know it will come to an end & we will have grown a little more as a family.  I remember days of bad weather panicked about what to do & dreading being in the apartment all day.  Or the fear of going anywhere besides the park that is right by our house because the traffic is so crazy.

I am thankful that I worked at the YMCA for the good part of 9yrs & have hours of training in children´s activities & games & tons of talented friends that are rich with advice & happy to share, that my husband is great with directions, that my husband has finished his PhD (he knows how to not give up), that working at church with the youth we learned how to pray for our kids, when we were sick my mom a nurse was here to get us well, Martha retired this past June & has been able to stay with us for a month (WE COULD NOT HAVE DONE THIS WITHOUT HER!!!), thankful that Tyler & I have worked as VIP´s in our church´s nursery for the past 5yrs, I am thankful that we kept on living.

Don´t let road-blocks stop you from doing what is right.  Pastor always says, “if you don´t know the next step go to the last step & keep doing it until God tells you the next one.”  We cannot tire of doing good.  Tyler & I lived nearly 5yrs of frustration in desire for children & in 1yr our prayers were answered but we needed to be prepared for this journey.  We needed to fight the lion & bear in the pasture before we faced Goliath.  I pray that we stop wasting time & find contentment in our circumstance, that we honor God where we are in life & that we are living daily to please Him.

Bogota has been hard, harder that I could have ever imagined but not once have I thought that we are out of God´s hand.  We are given one life, one very short life…

For this very reason, make every effort to add to your faith goodness; and to goodness, knowledge; and to knowledge, self-control; and to self-control, perseverance; and to perseverance, godliness; and to godliness, mutual affection; and to mutual affection, love.  For if you possess these qualities in increasing measure, they will keep you from being ineffective and unproductive in your knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ.  But whoever does not have them is nearsighted and blind, forgetting that they have been cleansed from their past sins.  Therefore, my brothers and sisters, make every effort to confirm your calling and election. For if you do these things, you will never stumble, and you will receive a rich welcome into the eternal kingdom of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.          2 Peter 1:5-11

At the dinnermesa,

Beth

6 thoughts on “Day 44…

  1. Excellent!!! You have come so far…I’m so glad that you can reflect on just how far you’ve come. And what a blessing that Martha has been with you for such a long time. Only a few days before home…and while these will seem like the longest on the journey, I pray they go fast!

  2. Diana Rowe says:

    Tyler and Beth,

    I am so happy for you all, it brings tears to my eyes! Just reading this blog everyday and hearing how you have grown is amazing! Your children are absolutely beautiful and I can’t wait to meet them in person.
    I also want to say “Thank you”. You both have been such an encouragement to me seeing the tremendous faith that lives in and through you. I am so excited to see this next chapter in life for you. Raising kids is not an easy task but it is a huge blessing and I can honestly say I thoroughly enjoyed raising my 3. Even in the bad times. Kids take a lot of time and energy from us as parents everyday so I just want to encourage you as a couple to still make time for each other. Go on dates when you can. I know I am among many that would be willing to babysit those kiddos. But even more than the dating, PRAY together. I can’t stress enough the importance of that and you know as well as I that Pastor Johnny says it all the time. I truly believe that praying together on a regular basis is the key for a solid foundation in a marriage. I love you both and already love those kids. Have a safe trip home. Can’t wait to see you.
    Love,
    Diana

  3. Jennifer gibson says:

    Yea! The light at the end of the tunnel is near!!! I know y’all are beyond ready to get home. We will continue to pray for your beautiful family.

  4. Sharon says:

    Thank you so much for this reflection of the time you’ve been there. You’ve allowed us to read about every emotion and every up and down. Seeing that you are recognizing the positive is so heart-warming for us who read this blog. You really have been through the desert, and are so close to crossing over to the promised land. I am looking forward to seeing you all next Sunday in church. Looking forward to Thursday!!!! Many, many prayers coming your ways for all of the final details.

  5. Gina Kudrna says:

    Thank you all for sharing your life with the world these past few weeks. My heart is touched everytime with God’s faithfulness and love. When I read the verses you include each day they take on a new meaning for me personally.
    I cant wait to meet your family!

Leave a Reply

