Day 35…

I was always taught that if you can´t say anything nice, don´t say anything at all.  Our spirits are low & frustration is high.  We have begun to dread the weekends, it means that everything is shut down & we have two more days of silence.  Tyler & I are both sick, so far Martha is holding strong.  A good night´s rest has become a thing of the past with all of the coughing & we are not using pillows for awhile until we know the lice are gone for good.

This afternoon I was able to call a few friends & family back at home while the kids watched a movie.  It was great to have some words of encouragement & prayers spoken over me.  Martha talked to Ronnie tonight & he told her about specific people who asked about us at church tonight & it means so very much that you are praying for us daily.  I can hardly think about home, family & our friends & not get teary-eyed.

Matthew 14:22-33 was our bible story tonight.  Thankful for the lesson, God´s perfect timing.

Immediately Jesus made the disciples get into the boat and go on ahead of him to the other side, while he dismissed the crowd.  After he had dismissed them, he went up on a mountainside by himself to pray. Later that night, he was there alone, and the boat was already a considerable distance from land, buffeted by the waves because the wind was against it.

Shortly before dawn Jesus went out to them, walking on the lake.  When the disciples saw him walking on the lake, they were terrified. “It’s a ghost,” they said, and cried out in fear.

But Jesus immediately said to them: “Take courage! It is I. Don’t be afraid.”

“Lord, if it’s you,” Peter replied, “tell me to come to you on the water.”

“Come,” he said.

Then Peter got down out of the boat, walked on the water and came toward Jesus.  But when he saw the wind, he was afraid and, beginning to sink, cried out, “Lord, save me!”

Immediately Jesus reached out his hand and caught him. “You of little faith,” he said, “why did you doubt?”

And when they climbed into the boat, the wind died down.  Then those who were in the boat worshiped him, saying, “Truly you are the Son of God.”    

At the dinnermesa,

Beth

6 thoughts on “Day 35…

  1. Wanted you to know a few sweet prayer warriors at our church here in VA are praying for you all. I have to admit I couldn’t hold myself together while lifting you all up to the Father and my mascara was quite the sight by the end of the prayer meeting. Love you, sweet friend!

  2. This is from ‘Jesus Calling’ devotional…I am your best friend as well as your King. Walk hand in hand with Me through your life. Together we will face whatever each day brings; pleasures,hardships,adventures,dissapointments. Nothing is wasted when it is shares with Me. I can bring beauty out of the ashes of lost dreams. I can glean Joy out of sorrow, peace out of adversity. Only a Friend who is also the King of kings could accomplish this divine alchemy. There is no other like Me!
    The friendship I offer you is practical and down to earth, yet it is saturated with heavenly Glory. Living in My Presence means living in two realms simultaneously: the visible world and the unseen, eternal reality. I have equipped you to stay conscious of Me while walking along the dusty, earthbound paths.
    Read….John 15:13-15, Isaiah 61:3, 2Corinthians 6:10
    Love you and am praying…..

  3. gina k says:

    Reading and praying every day. And telling people about these children and the faith you and Tyler have because you did step out of that boat. Also that you haven’t lost faith because everyday your eyes are on Him. Love you lots.

  4. Sharon says:

    I’m humming Casting Crowns as I read this. “the voice of truth says — do not be afraid.”
    Still many prayers going now to Colombia!!

  5. Praying for you…we finally got internet yesterday and I was able to take a few minutes to catch up a bit, although I never posted. I can only imagine how much you miss home after SO LONG. Praying that God blesses you beyond your wildest imaginations this weekend to help the weekend FLY by! Just remember the old song that was my grandpa’s favorite “One Day at a Time…sweet Jesus…that’s all I’m asking from you. Just give me the strength, to do every day, what I have to do.” You only have to focus on today…Praying you can focus on today, not yesterday, not tomorrow. And praying that tomorrow you get “THE call”! And as crazy as this sounds, when you get home, you will miss Columbia, although it may take a few months (or maybe years…lol).

Leave a Reply

