11.5, why…

Why do I make time for the blog every night?  For my children´s memories, to reconnect with friends, to have support…no because I fear not writing it.  We so desperately in need God all of time, we so desperately need other believers to join us in prayer, specific prayer for our family.

My son´s body spiked a fever of 103.2 tonight after no signs of sickness & a time of recovery.  I cannot talk or lay down for more than about 5min without my entire body being shaken by uncontrollable coughs.

For the Spirit God gave us does not make us timid, but gives us power, love and self-discipline. 2 Timothy 1:7

God allowed my mom to come down at the right time, did you know in the beginning we had planned on her coming the last week because she spoke a small bit of Spanish & we thought that she would be helpful on the plane explaining things to the children?  Praise the Lord He intervened and brought her this week.   She was here last night to help me place cold towels on my son´s pressure points to try & bring his fever down, she was here to teach me how to medicate my son & myself so we would both be safe & be able to heal.  She woke up with me at 1:00am to give my son another round of medicine.

 And do this, understanding the present time: The hour has already come for you to wake up from your slumber, because our salvation is nearer now than when we first believed.  The night is nearly over; the day is almost here. So let us put aside the deeds of darkness and put on the armor of light.  Let us behave decently, as in the daytime, not in carousing and drunkenness, not in sexual immorality and debauchery, not in dissension and jealousy.   Rather, clothe yourselves with the Lord Jesus Christ, and do not think about how to gratify the desires of the flesh.  Romans 13:11-14

So I sit in the night writing.  Coughing in pain but surrounded by my family.  I am ready to come to their need to follow through on this plan that God allowed our family.

As I read John 9, I am reminded of past sins, how undeserving we are to be called sons & daughters of God, but that salvation is for everyone who turns to Him.  The pharisees harrassed this man that Jesus had performed a miracle on, they tried to get the man to denounce the miracle & discredit Jesus on the basis of “spiritual human-made rules”.  In verse 25 the man states, “One thing I do know. I was blind but now I see!”

Well friends the one thing I know is that I was barren and now I have 5 children.  Five new people who will hear about the Good News of Jesus Christ.  These earthly bodies will soon waste away, I pray that we act now: telling others the Good News, loving each other, fighting the evil one in this world.

So again I write tonight, please pray for healing.

At the dinnermesa,

Beth

5 thoughts on “11.5, why…

  1. Melissa says:

    Praying friend 🙂 feel better in Jesus name I pray I lift up Beth and her family and ask that you would heal them all give them strength and rest. – amen

    • Gail Garrett says:

      So hard to be a parent and even harder when they are sick. We continue to pray for your whole family to be well and for your mother to not get what the rest of you have. She is a good person to be there cause even though I am a nurse, I remember talking to her once when Matthew spiked a high fever as a child.
      about the sleeping thing with the baby- remember any small change can make a difference in the sleeping patterns- even hard for adults at the time change. But especially kids- any change- timing, activity, different place, different people in the home even sometimes the weather can disrupt sleep patterns- In nursing school they said for every night of hospitalization expect 3 nights of disrupted sleep when they go home. Ask your mom if she remembers coming to visit us at a Thanksgiving I believe and I was up in the middle of night with Matthew and cause we were awake, she was awake. Also ask her about her friend in Georgia who had a kid who got up before everybody else in the family habitually and her friend would leave chocolate milk for her so she could have her milk and watch TV till the rest of the family got up. So it is something some kids do and as she grows and does not have as many changes as she has experienced in her young life, she will settle down. She may have already done that but be ready for the next change.

  2. Megan Canton says:

    Hey girl….. So sorry that you are sick. I think the hardest part of the ‘Mom Job’ is being sick and feeling awful but still having to maintain the well-being of your family. We will be praying for a quick recovery for you and Yohan, praying that no other little Nichols’ get the cold and a blessed day in the court room. Love you guys and miss you a lot!!

  3. Cindy Adkison says:

    Thank you so much for taking the time write every night. It is so interesting. Count on me to be one of your prayer partners. I can’t wait to meet your kids. God bless you! Cindy.

  4. Sharon says:

    I didn’t get to read your blogs for the past few days, and I’m “catching up.” I’ve been praying, but didn’t know you were so sick. Praying that you are already better and ready to tackle the next thing.
    Sharon

Leave a Reply

