Day 1

We made it to Bogota. I wish I could add an exclamation mark but so far I have been unable to find that feature on the Spanish keyboard.
Flights were good, we left for Miami last night around 9pm, then had a layover and left for Bogota at 10am the next day.  Slept in the airport…and by slept, we sat up for several hours.  As soon as we exited the plane we went through immigration and then out to the curve, where thankfully our driver, Patricia, was there waiting with a sign.  As we got into the car and headed to the hotel I was reminded of one of Tyler´s coworkers, who shall remain nameless…every car ride in Bogota causes me to be thankful that I am a believer and I know where I am going in the end.

All the luggage we are traveling with & I still forgot Tyler´s deodorant, guess he will be wearing ¨island breeze¨ until my mom arrives with a new one

As we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by our maid Carmen Patricia, she is wonderful, incredibly kind and very thoughtful.  She walked us down to the ATM so we could get out cash to go buy groceries, pay for taxis, tip, etc.  It is also incredibly important that we go to ATMs because our large bills down here in Colombia (doctor, travel, etc) have to be paid with cash & we can only take out a small amount per day, meaning that we have to go to an ATM everyday so we will have enough for the big payments.
So our debit card will not work at this ATM.  We try a few more & the ATM finally informed us that there were no more ¨trys¨left for today.  We were pretty discouraged because we had not eaten since 10:30am, and had not had any water since 9:30am…long day. Around 5:30pm we found one machine that gave us some money & we were able to eat, buy groceries & pay taxis.
We kind of have Skype working, our internet signal goes in & out so it´s a little unreliable.  The bath water at the apartment is either extremely hot or ice cold.  We are both exhausted & getting a little short with each other.
But tomorrow we meet our kids.  Their backpacks & clothing are sitting by the door waiting to meet them.  Can I be honest with you?  I am NERVOUS (some would even say fearful).  I feel completely out of place in this beautiful country, where I am clearly the plain American.  I cannot speak the language.  I hate any time we get into a car.  The milk comes in bags.  We cannot find Cheerios at the grocery store.  I feel lost without everything I know around me.
Then I am reminded that tomorrow my kids are coming to me with nothing.  Not one thing to their name, no clothing, toothbrushes, stuffed animal, last name, address, nothing.  They are leaving this beautiful country that is their home to begin new lives with us.  I am thankful for this time of uncomfort because it will remind me that I know a very small amount of what my kids are going through.
For all who are led by the spirit of God are children of God.  So you have not received a spirit that makes you fearful slaves.  Instead, you received God´s spirit when he adopted you as his own children.  Now we call him, ¨Abba, Father.¨  For his Spirit joins with our spirit to affirm that we are God´s children.  Romans 8:14-16
God is so good. (ugh where is that exclamation mark).  Please keep our family in your thoughts & prayers tomorrow as we become the a family of 7.  Loving & missing you all!
At the dinnermesa,
Beth
6 thoughts on “Day 1

  1. Melissa says:

    Wow by far the most amazing!!!!!!!!!! (there are some exclamation points u can borrow) 😉 we are so happy for you!! (there’s some more) and can’t wait to meet the little ones. I orally love the boots and ballet flats for te kids they’ll be true texans coming home 🙂 I am touched by your post tonight it is different and its rough but u said it perfectly when u said u can sort of identity w the kids. We love you!

  2. toni smith says:

    i am speechless and crying my eyes out for you guys…i already love them, i can’t imagine how your heart will swell with love when you see their faces for the first time…i am amazed by God…and amazed by you and tyler…hope to meet them soon…

  3. Chad Nichols says:

    In case Tyler didn’t get my text, tell him to read Psalm 127:4-5 from me. We Love you both and are praying for you. Love, The Nichols Four!

  4. Carol cooper says:

    Beth and Tyler, This is soooo exciting and I am praying for you right now. Can’t wait to meet your beautiful children.

  5. So good to hear your heart and rejoice in the Lord with you for all that He is doing in your family. We will keep praying. Much love dear friends. Janet, for Tom and kids.

Leave a Reply

