It’s all in a name…

I was named after my grandmothers.  Sometimes I forget how lucky I am that I was named after two people who love their families & are beautiful examples of motherhood:

Elizabeth (God’s promise) Ruth (friend).  I go by Beth (House).

I used to get a little jealous of my sister whose name translates as “Beautiful Princess”.

We are getting so very close to being able to legally accept the children.  We are working on paperwork, preparing rooms, cleaning out everything in the house that we don’t absolutely need (aka: another garage sale this past weekend) and pinching pennies to make it through this last stretch and be able to travel to Colombia.  This past week we sent another batch of paperwork for our dossier and so far we have gotten four emails about corrections or questions about the information.  Sometimes it feels like it will never end or like something is going to happen that will stop us from getting the kids.  I feel like we are riding an emotional roller-coaster and ate a funnel cake & some nachos before the ride…that never ends well.

When we first heard about the children we heard their story & their names. No pictures, no video, no sonogram.  They have a history that I am not apart of .  They are in a culture that I do not fully understand.  They speak a language that I do not know.  After we said “yes” we do want these children” I struggled of how to pray for them.  We know so little about them but we do know their names…

To my oldest son…when I read the meaning of your name I laughed out loud in happiness: “God’s gracious gift”.  Grace: getting something that we don’t deserve.  You were named perfectly; every morning I pray for you first, because I am an engineer’s wife & we like things in numerical order.  When I pray for you I am constantly reminded of our gift of salvation and that no matter what the day may bring I have that truth to stand on and that God is faithful and that in praying for you I am trusting Him with my life and your life.  And that even the opportunity to be your parents is an undeserved blessing!

To  my oldest daughter…your name delights my soul: “A song of joy or praise”.  ‘Shout for joy to the Lord, all the earth. Worship the Lord with gladness; come before him with joyful songs.  Know that the Lord is God.  It is he who made us, and we are his; we are his people, the sheep of his pasture.  Enter his gates with thanksgiving and his courts with praise; give thanks to him and praise his name.  For the Lord is good and his love endures forever; his faithfulness continues through all generations.’ Psalm 100.

To my middle son…I find confidence in your name: “Will, desire, protection”.  I find myself feeling helpless all of the time.  All I can do is sign documents & pray that the orphanage board approves us for your adoption.  Protection, I think that this is a part of every parent’s prayer life.  He is our rock, fortress, deliverer & stronghold…whom shall I fear!

To my youngest son…I am reminded to put on the full armor of God: “Divine spear”.  ‘…the sword of the spirit, which is the word of God.   And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the Lord’s people.’ Ephesians 6:17-18.  I am sad to say that scripture memorization has never been a priority in my life but now I fear not knowing biblical truths to tell you & teach you how to stand up against the evil in this world. You are a prayer for my priorities to change & for guidance in becoming a parent.

To my youngest daughter…your name brings a promise of family: “Noble one”.  “Look at how great a love the Father has given us that we should be called God’s children. And we are! The reason the world does not know us is that it didn’t know Him.” 1 John 3:1.  The King of kings calls us His children & if we accept Him as our Lord & Savior and the gift of salvation He offers we will join in His family as His sons & daughters. We are adopted!

We wait, we pray, we prepare for rain.  We pray.

At the dinnermesa,

Beth

5 thoughts on “It’s all in a name…

  1. Isaac Gonzalez says:

    I, like you, are ready to meet these little rug rats. Lisa and I look foward to being able to share in the wonderful journey that you and Tyler have infront of you. While at times it may be a little overwhelming, realize that you are not in this alone. You have a huge support network! I know that you both will be amazing parents!

  2. Elaine and Steve says:

    Hi Beth and Tyler–You all have been on our minds and in our prayers!!!!!!! I get it. That ugly doubt has been messing with my mind lately. Your kids’ rooms look really fantastic! Would love to hear from you. –Elaine and Steve

Leave a Reply

