Love Thy Neighbor…

So for the past two days this hymn has been going through my head,

“I serve a risen Savior, He’s in the world today;
I know that He is living, whatever men may say;
I see His hand of mercy, I hear His voice of cheer, And just the time I need Him, He’s always near. ”

We had a garage sale and all of the proceeds went toward our adoption.  We prayed for donations, good weather, volunteers, and a crowd.  How did God answer?

1. We prayed for donations…over 30 generous families donated to the sale.

2.We prayed for good weather…God gave us two beautiful days in a row after a week of refreshing rain. Rain that I stressed over well into the night (Matthew 6:24 ‘Do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself’). Sad to say I worried.

3.We prayed for volunteers…friends & family showed up for every hour of the sale, with tables, good attitudes, food, and encouragement!

4.We prayed for a crowd…God provided abundantly with friends, family, and neighbors.

Some unexpected blessings:

Instead of haggling prices, the most said phrases of the day were “keep the change” & “God bless”

We met several strangers who shopped one day, heard our story, returned the next day with donations for the sale, & then shopped again!  These are my neighbors!!  Neighbors who I found out are bilingual, have kids to play with my kids, are going through adoptions themselves, teach at my kid’s school, and are praying for us.

Thank you to those who prayed, donated items, volunteered time & beautifully displayed Mark 12:30, “Love your neighbor as yourself.”

The garage before…

Bedroom #1

Bedroom #2

Me & mom pricing

Front yard Day 1

Back yard Day 1

So many clothes

Good morning day 2

Some of our lovely volunteers

The check-out station

Backyard Day 2

The last unexpected blessing, remember how packed the bedrooms looked in earlier photos? Two bedrooms & the living room were covered in clothes, household items, electronics…everything! But while we were outside working the sale some of our amazing volunteers cleaned the house!!!

Room #1 CLEAN!!!

Room #2 CLEAN!!!

& the living room; letting the husband rest peacefully after a hard day’s work

“You ask me how I know He lives?
He lives within my heart. ”

At the dinnermesa,

Beth

2 thoughts on “Love Thy Neighbor…

  1. Vicki Lindsey says:

    So wonderful to hear of the amazing ways God is working in your lives! From the time I first met you, God has used you to bless me time & again! What a precious woman of God you are & what a wonderful mother you already are to these children God is giving you!

Leave a Reply

