Five Minutes’ Peace

One of the most asked questions that I get about the adoption: “What are you most excited about & what are you most nervous about?”

Allow me to answer,

Most excited: we are going to have a family, we are going to be a family of seven!  I will have five new people to love and care about.  The noise, messes, laughter, constant busyness, seeing my husband be a father, homework, sibling fights, special moments with mom & dad, Christmas morning, my parents becoming grandparents, getting to tell my kids about Jesus, telling my children I love them.

Most nervous: we are going to have a family, we are going to be a family of seven!  I will have five new people to love and care about.  The selflessness required of a parent, emotions, worry, inadequacies, tantrums, anger, insecurities, physical needs, mental needs, not living up to “America’s standards”, not living up to my family’s standards, not living up to my standards.

I was talking to my Aunt Suzy about the “most nervous” side and then received this delightful book from her in the mail:

It reminded me that my insecurities are okay, because being a parent is hard & exhausting but as Aunt Suzy says “worth it”!

At the dinnermesa,

Beth

5 thoughts on “Five Minutes’ Peace

  1. Samantha says:

    Your excited part made me kinda teary. I am so happy for you Beth. Yall are going to be amazing parents and yall have so much to offer. Not many people are strong enough to take on an entire family, but I know you can do it. I love telling others about what you are doing for a family of kids. You two are the best people I know by far.

  2. Vicki Lindsey says:

    I read this book to my children many, many times; I loved it! Having more than the expected # of children is challenging, but the rewards are increased exponentially! You have been chosen by our all-knowing God for this, He knows that you can do it!!

  3. Kristy Todd says:

    I can’t even fathom how you stepped out on faith during this time. Loving your children before knowing them, before so many questions were answered. I know God must have prepared your hearts for this journey but you are a good and faithful women of God!!

Leave a Reply

